In addition to “People You May Know” (… or not know), LinkedIn should make “People You Should Know” recommendations.

LinkedIn’s “people you may know” recommendations need some improvement. According to LinkedIn, I should know pretty much everyone who’s worked at the same place I have. That’s just not good logic. Its “Jobs you may be interested in” feature is not all that useful either. I don’t want to do business development for a medical device company, thank you.

What I would like to see on LinkedIn is a “People you should know” feature. Based on my comments on Twitter and LinkedIn as well as my work history and connections, LinkedIn should be able to figure out who can help me progress in my career (and whom I can help) and find a common link that can make the introduction. This would give people an incentive to use LinkedIn more frequently and people would become more “linked in” with one another.

Leave a Reply

